Major League Baseball: The Rookie of the Year is unanimous

For the first time since 2017, the experts unanimously agreed Monday night to name the major league baseball rookies of the year.

On the American League side, Gunnar Henderson became the first Orioles player since pitcher Gregg Olson in 1989 to win the title. The third baseman and fastball specialist also snapped an outfielder’s winning streak, with four straight being picked in recent years.

• Read also: Have the Jays hired John Schneider’s successor?

• Read also: Shohei Ohtani: Giants would prepare to ‘deploy heavy artillery’

After playing 34 games in 2022, the 22-year-old could participate in his first full season. He finished in fine fashion, winning a silver bat for his efforts at the plate. He produced 82 runs and had a .255 batting average. He added 28 long balls and scored 100 runs, two Orioles.

With Henderson, Anthony Santander and Adley Rutschman in particular, Baltimore (101-61) pulled off a surprise finish by finishing the regular season atop the competitive East with its best record since 1979. The eventual World Series champions Texas Rangers eliminated them in the American semifinals.

The Alabama native is the first unanimous rookie player in the association since Kyle Lewis of the Seattle Mariners in 2020. Other finalists included Cleveland Guardians pitcher Tanner Bibee and Boston Red Sox first baseman Triston Casas.

First time for the D-Backs

Corbin Carroll may not have captured the title in his first World Series appearance, but the Arizona Diamondbacks shortstop can at least take solace in the fact that he was named the Nationals’ MVP.

This is the first time in 26 years of existence that a D-Backs player has received this recognition. The 23-year-old outfielder stood out on the bat, but also in the locker room with great maturity, according to his teammates.

Carroll led the Nationals with 10 triples and played in the All-Star Game. He maintained an excellent .285 batting average while scoring 76 runs. No Diamondbacks player did better than his 161 hits and 116 runs scored.

This unanimous vote is the first since the one received by Cody Bellinger (Los Angeles Dodgers) in 2017. That year, Aaron Judge (New York Yankees) also received favor from all the experts.

Competing with Carroll were Dodgers outfielder James Outman and New York Mets pitcher Kodai Senga.

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *