Grand Prix of Figure Skating | Seventh place for two duos from Quebec

The two Quebec duos present at the NHK Trophy, the final Grand Prix of the figure skating season, finished seventh on Saturday in Osaka, Japan. In pairs, Kelly Ann Laurin and Loucas Éthier collected 160.79 points, while in ice dance Marie-Jade Lauriault and Romain Le Gac finished with a score of 176.26.


In the pairs competition, the Germans Minerva Fabienne Hase and Nikita Volodin dominated (202.51), who finished ahead of the Italian duo Lucrezia Beccari and Matteo Guarise (190.31) and Rebecca Ghilardi and Filippo Ambrosini (186.47).

Seventh at the end of the short program, Laurin and Éthier took sixth in Saturday’s free program.

“It wasn’t our best short program, but today (Saturday) I felt good and confident. It was good,” he admitted from Saint-Jérôme.

His partner from Saint-Eustache was pleased to finish the competition well in front of an enthusiastic crowd.

“It was a real experience and we have never experienced it before. We skated for ourselves in free skating and to prove to ourselves that we can redeem ourselves. »

Earlier this season, the pair placed fifth at the Skate Canada International Grand Prix held in Vancouver.

In the ice dance, Marie-Jade Lauriault and Romain Le Gac maintained their seventh place after the free dance with which they collected 104.91 points, which is a total of 176.26. At the top of the ranking, the British Lilah Fear and Lewis Gibson (215.19) managed to dethrone the Italians Charlene Guignard and Marco Fabbri (214.56), who were temporarily first after the rhythmic dance.


Marie-Jade Lauriault and Romain Le Gac

“The crowd was amazing and even though it wasn’t the performance we wanted, we’re happy we took advantage of the moment,” Lauriault said.

The Grand Prix Final will begin on December 7th in Beijing and several Quebecers will be in attendance. Deanna Stellato-Dudek and Maxime Deschamps will skate in pairs, while in ice dancing, the Chinese audience will be able to see the duets of Laurence Fournier Beaudry and Nikolaj Soerensen and Marjorie Lajoie and Zachary Lagha in action. Ontarians Piper Gilles and Paul Poirier will also be registered.

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *